About
The castle was built from about 1618 onwards by the Scottish planter Sir James Balfour, and this Scottish influence is evident in its architecture. It was altered in 1652 and damaged in 1689, but continued to be occupied until the early 19th century when it was badly damaged by fire in 1803. The Balfour family burials are located in another State Care monument — Aghalurcher Church.
Visitors can explore the exterior and enjoy the striking character of this historic site. The interior is currently closed while essential conservation works are undertaken, helping to preserve the building for future generations.






