Set on the shores of Upper Lough Erne in County Fermanagh, Crom is one of Ireland's most important nature conservation areas.
Portora Castle guards a former crossing point where the river joins Lough Erne. Built in 1613 by Sir William Cole, it consisted of a 3 storey house across the breadth of the bawn which was defended by 4 circular towers.
The country park boasts beautiful woodland and lough shore walks, an insect garden and wildflower meadow. Castle Archdale was the main flying boat base during WWII, highlighted in an exhibition in the visitor centre entitled ‘Castle Archdale at War’.
Situated beside the River Erne in County Fermanagh, was built almost 600 years ago by Gaelic Maguires. It was strategically important throughout its history. In the 17th century it became a garrison fort and later a military barracks.
A visit to The Inniskillings Museum at Enniskillen Castle is a journey through more than 300 years of world history as encountered by the town’s two famous regiments, the Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers and 5th Royal Inniskilling Dragoon Guards.
Florence Court Demesne,
Florence Court is a truly welcoming home. The house, formerly the home of the Cole family, Earls of Enniskillen, is surrounded by a large area of parkland, garden and woodland, with breathtaking views to Benaughlin and the Cuilcagh Mountains.
Castle Coole one of Ireland's finest Neo-classical houses, allowing visitors to glimpse what life was like in the home of the Earls of Belmore. Discover the story of the people who lived and worked below stairs as you explore the servants quarters.
William Cole’s original ‘market house’ was here as early as 1618. The present building was opened in 1901 at a cost of £13,000. William Scott from Drogheda was the architect.
One of Ireland's most important conservation areas, Crom is home to a wealth of wildlife. Discover it whether you are fishing, woodland walking, butterfly spotting or bird watching.
Pleasantly wooded town park with walks, shrub gardens and children's play area. Started in 1845, the monument took twelve years to complete. It is built in memory of Sir G Lowry Cole G.C.B.
History & Heritage Trails
(2.2 MB PDF)